Skip Navigation
This table is used for column layout.

Fire Districts
Contact TypeContact Information
Fire District 1
10 Bridge St, Dartmouth, MA 02748 | Emergency: Dial 911, Business Phone# (508) 996-1596
Fire District 2
1100 Russells Mills Rd, Dartmouth, MA 02714 | Emergency: Dial 911, Business Phone# (508) 636-2441
Fire District 3
140 Cross Rd, Dartmouth, MA 02747 | Emergency: Dial 911, Business Phone# (508) 994-6761
Additional Links:
Link to PageLink to PageLink to Page
Dartmouth's three Fire Districts are autonomous local units, separate from the Town.  Voters in the Districts elect their officers, including Prudential Committee, Fire Board of Engineers and Clerk.  The Fire Districts have recently voted to have the position of Fire Chief appointed by the Prudential Committee to allow for stability in the office.  The Prudential Committee and Fire Chief in each District oversee the day to day operation of the department. 

Annual Meetings of Fire District voters decide general policy, and approve the District's budget and capital outlay.  The Districts are financed by property taxes levied by the Fire District meetings.

Each District has its volunteer firemen who are paid for each call.  Training is conducted in house and by the Department of Fire Services, State Fire Academy in accordance with NFPA guidelines.

Per MGL, the Fire Chief in each district bears the additional title of Chief Forest Warden.  In that capacity he/she supervises the fighting of forest and grass fires, issues permits for the burning of brush in his/her district.

Town of Dartmouth, 400 Slocum Road, Dartmouth, MA 02747
Website Disclaimer & Privacy Policy
Virtual Towns & Schools Website