About Our Town


Town SealDartmouth was incorporated as a town in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in 1664.


Dartmouth is located in Southeastern Massachusetts in the County of Bristol; bordered by Fall River and Freetown to the north, New Bedford to the east, Westport to the west and the Atlantic Ocean to the south. Dartmouth is approximately 60 miles south of Boston and 30 miles east of Providence and is the fifth largest town in the Commonwealth.


  • Total Area 63.95 square miles
  • Land Area 61.82 square miles

USGS Topographical Plates

  • Fall River East, New Bedford South, Westport, New Bedford North


  • 32,881 (as of January 1, 2014)

Form of Government

  • Select Board
  • Town Administrator
  • Representative Town Meeting

Registered Voters

  • Total Registered: 22,893
  • Democrats: 8,455, 36.9%
  • Republicans: 2,223, 9.7%
  • Other parties: 111, 0.5%
  • Unenrolled Voters: 12,081, 52.8%

Regional Planning Agency

View the Southeastern Regional Planning and Economic Development District (SRPEDD) website.