Board of Appeals

 The Zoning Board of Appeals Meetings for March 2024 are:

March 6th, March 13th and March 27, 2024.   Please call the ZBA office if any information is needed prior to the agendas being posted.


  • 6 pm
  • Meet twice a month
  • Town Hall
  • 400 Slocum Road, Dartmouth, MA 02747 
  • Room 304

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.


  • Halim Choubah, P.E., Clerk
    Term Expiration: 6/30/2025
  • Michael Medeiros, Esq., Chairman
    Term Expiration: 6/30/2026
  • Robert K. Gardner, Jr., Board Member
    Term Expiration: 6/30/2024
  • Dr. Rahim Aghai, Associate Member
    Term Expiration: 6/30/2026
  • Alvin Youman, Esq., Associate Member
    Term Expiration: 6/30/2024
  • Walter Faria, Associate Member
    Term Expiration: 6/30/2024

Staff Contacts

  • Michelle Vieira, Office Administrator
    Phone: 508-910-1868


The Board of Appeals is under the jurisdiction of Section 14, Chapter 40A of the General Laws of Massachusetts. The Board consists of six members who are appointed by the Select Board, three of which are associate members.

Any person aggrieved by the refusal of the issuance of a building permit by the Building Commissioner and Zoning Enforcement Officer may appeal to this office under the provisions of Chapter 40A of the Massachusetts General Laws.

The Board of Appeals continues to work cooperatively with the Planning Board, Conservation Commission, Board of Health, Industrial Development Commission, Dartmouth's Safety Officer, and Department of Public Works to ensure the protection of the Town's Environment while providing zoning relief when appropriate.