Charter Review Committee

View the Approved Motions (PDF).


  • Shawn D. McDonald, Select Board Appointment
  • Brian R O'Hare, Finance Committee Appointment
  • Heidi Brooks, School Committee Appointment
  • Steve Melo, Town Moderator Appointment
  • David Cunha, Town Moderator Appointment
  • Christopher O' Neil, Planning Board Appointment
  • Mary Waite, School Committee Appointment
  • Teresa Hamm, Finance Committee Appointment

Mission Statement

The Charter Review Committee was formed in compliance with Section 6-7 of the Town Charter, adopted in 2000. This Section calls for a Committee to conduct a periodic review at least once every 10 years and to make a report and recommendations to Town Meeting regarding proposed amendments to the Charter.

State law requires that recommendations from the Committee must be submitted to Town Meeting and receive 2/3 support there before they are put to the voters for final approval. State law also stipulates this process cannot be used to change the composition, mode of election or appointment, or terms of office of Town Meeting or the Select Board.


Residents can comment on the motions by sending an email to the Charter Review Commitee.