Community Preservation Committee

The Community Preservation Committee studies the needs, possibilities and resources of the town regarding community preservation. This committee consults with existing boards, including the Conservation Commission, the Historical Commission, the Planning Board, the Park Board and the Housing Authority, or persons acting in those capacities or performing like duties, in conducting such studies. As part of its study, the committee shall hold one or more public informational hearings on the needs, possibilities and resources of the town regarding community preservation possibilities and resources, notice of which shall be posted publicly and published for each of two weeks preceding a hearing in a newspaper of general circulation in the city or town.

The Community Preservation Committee makes recommendations to the Select Board for the acquisition, creation and preservation of open space, for the acquisition and preservation of historic resources, for the acquisition, creation and preservation of land for recreational use, for the creation, preservation and support of community housing and for rehabilitation or restoration of such open space, historic resources, land for recreational use and community housing that is acquired or created as provided in this section. With respect to community housing, the community preservation committee shall recommend, wherever possible, the reuse of existing buildings or construction of new buildings on previously developed sites.


  • Howard Baker-Smith, Chairperson
    Term: 2022
  • Stuart MacGregor, Vice-Chair
    Term: 2025
  • James Conlin, At-Large
    Term: 2024
  • John V. Sousa, At-Large
    Term: 2025

Representatives from Town Boards

  • Brock Cordeiro, Housing Authority
  • Christina Sewall, Historical Commission
  • Margaret Sweet, Planning Board
  • Joseph Vieira, Park Board
  • Kelly J. Wilbur, Conservation Commission

Helpful Documents