Board of Appeals

Governor Baker orders closure of all non-essential businesses:

All non-essential businesses have been ordered to close as of 12pm Tuesday, March 24, 2020 through May 25, 2020

 Zoning Board of Appeals information will be updated regularly. 

Posted on: May 1, 2020 - 11:48am

Due to the Coronavirous and that the Town Hall will continue to be closed to the public, the following cases will be continued to June 10, 2020 Special Permit Case 2020-03- 8 Washburn Lane,  Use Variance Case 2020-05- 757 State Road, Comprehensive Permit Case 2020-08- 1 Anderson Way  and Amendment Variance Case 2019-18-Brady Estates,LLC- Hixville Road.

The following case will be continued to June 17, 2020: Comprehensive Permit Case 2018-18- State Road. 

The following cases will be continued to June 24, 2020:  Variance Case 2020-06 - 24 Wilson Street, Variance Case 2020-07-185 Cross Road.

Any concerns, questions, including the submission of applications, please call the Zoning Board of Appeals office at (508) 910-1868 or email:

The Board of Appeals is under the jurisdiction of Section 14, Chapter 40A of the General Laws of Massachusetts.  The Board consists of six members who are appointed by the Select Board, three which are associate members.

Any person aggrieved by the refusal of the issuance of a building permit by the Building Commissioner and Zoning Enforcement Officer, may appeal to this office under the provisions of Chapter 40A of the Massachusetts General Laws.

The Board of Appeals continues to work cooperatively with the Planning Board, Conservation Commission, Board of Health, Industrial Development Commission, Dartmouth's Safety Officer and Department of Public Works to ensure protection of the Town's Environment while providing zoning relief when appropriate.

The Preserve at Dartmouth:
Comprehensive Permit Application (40B)

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Michelle Vieira Principal Clerk 508-910-1868

Members - Appointed by Select Board

Halim Choubah, P.E.



Michael Medeiros, Esq.



Robert K. Gardner, Jr.

Board Member


Dr. Rahim Aghai

Associate Member


Dr. Ralph Pollack

Associate Member


Alvin Youman, Esq.

Associate Member